Stellenbosch Municipality
Greater Stellenbosch - Mission and Values



Our mission is to deliver cost-effective services that will provide the most enabling environment for civil and corporate citizens.


In all of our work and engagements, we subscribe to the following values:

  • Integrity:

    As servants of the public, we undertake to perform the functions and operations of the Municipality in an honest and ethical manner.

  • Accountability:

    As responsible public servants, we pledge to perform our duties in a manner that is open to oversight and public scrutiny. This commitment is shaped by our understanding to give an account of our actions to individuals, groups and organizations.

  • Transformation:

    We will tirelessly work at transforming our municipality, communities and broader society as custodians of hope through unlocking the endless possibilities our valley holds treasure. This commitment is shaped by our understanding of the historical, spatial, social and economic inequalities in our valley.

  • Innovation:

    We will continuously review our systems, procedures and processes to make them more responsive to customer needs. In partnership with our stakeholders we will seek innovative solutions to complex problems. We will encourage and reward initiatives which show creativity and ingenuity.


Stellenbosch is situated about 50 km from Cape Town and is flanked by the N1 and N2 main routes. The municipal area covers roughly 900 km². According to population growth estimates, of the Community Survey the population figures for Stellenbosch for 2016 indicates a number of 176 543 people and 52 374 households.The Municipality’s area of jurisdiction includes the town of Stellenbosch and stretches past Jamestown to Raithby in the South, Bottelary, Koelenhof, and Klapmuts to the North, and over the Helshoogte Pass to Pniel, Kylemore, Groendal and Franschhoek in the East. 

Stellenbosch town is the second oldest town in South Africa, dating back to 1679 when an island in the Eerste River was named Stellenbosch by the then Governor of the Cape, Simon van der Stel. The first farming activities in the area were started in that year. Today, the area has become primarily known for its extraordinary wines, fruit, world renowned cultural landscapes and exceptional scenic quality. The towns of Stellenbosch and Franschhoek are renowned for various architectural styles such as Dutch, Georgian and Victorian, which reflect their rich heritage and traditions, but also the divisions of the past.

The area houses excellent educational institutions, including the University of Stellenbosch and a number of prestigious schools. It has a strong business sector, varying from major South African businesses and corporations, to smaller enterprises and home industries. The tourism industry alone is responsible for the creation of about 18 000 jobs in the area. The area’s numerous wine farms and cellars are very popular and the area is the home of the very first wine route in South Africa.

A variety of sport facilities are available. Coetzenburg, with its athletics and rugby stadiums, has hosted star performances over many generations while the Danie Craven Stadium is the home of Maties rugby, the largest rugby club in the world. The municipal area has a number of theatres, which include the University’s HB Thom Theatre, Spier Amphitheatre, Dorpstraat Theatre, Aan de Braak Theatre, and Oude Libertas Amphitheatre – well-known for its summer season of music, theatre and dance.

The area is known for its quality, award-winning restaurants and is a tourist haven with many boutiques, galleries, and curio shops. There are several museums and art galleries and the area is host to a number of annual cultural, food,wine and sports festivals. A wide array of accommodation is available for visitors to choose from. Welfare and community organizations play a leading role in assisting to meet the needs of previously neglected communities. The following municipalities share their borders with Stellenbosch Municipality:
• The City of Cape Town (South)
• Drakenstein Municipality, Cape Winelands District (North)
• Breede Valley Municipality, (North-east)
• Theewaterskloof Municipality, (South-west)

Stellenbosch Municipality is now divided into 22 Wards, with recent amendments to some of the ward boundaries by the Municipal Demarcation Board in 2016.


General 021 808 8111
(08:00 - 16:30 week days)

24-hours emergency line
021 808 8890

Visit our Facebook page or Twitter account.